Board of Commissioners

Library Board of Commissioners 2019-2020

  • President: Deirdre A. McCartney
  • Vice President: Mary Hein
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. John Martin
  • Member: Robert Sonzogni
  • Member: Dottie Teixeira
  • Member at Large: Susanne Laws

Regular meetings of the library’s Board of Commissioners meetings usually are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the library.  Meetings are open to the public.  Call the Library, (302) 856-7958, to confirm date and time.

Become a member

Applications to become a member of the Board of Commissioners are available at the library.  Appointment as a commissioner is made by the Resident Judge (currently Richard Stokes) of the Superior Court of the State of Delaware for Sussex County following the recommendation of the Board of Commissioners.

There are five commissioners who serve five-year staggered terms.  One board position opens each year. 

  • Candidates must be a resident of the Georgetown area.
  • Board members are expected to attend monthly meetings plus other library functions.
  • Applications are available at the circulation desk.
  • An interview will be scheduled for each applicant.